Therapy: session #11

Note to self: Even though Irish beer tastes especially good on St. Patrick’s Day it’s not the best idea to go out the night before therapy 😀

Whatever, yesterday’s session was about a few things that happened in the last few weeks and above all the way I managed the emotions they triggered.
As I always feel that my emotions are inanppropriately strong I generally try to keep them under control. Trivialization, sarcasm, understatements. I am simply convinced that intense feelings should only be tied to extreme situations and I appreciate when other people keep cool as well. For example I just can’t take irascible people who start screaming due to trivialities seriously. And I also don’t know how to react when people start crying because of everyday things. That’s why I have a standard for myself and that is not to throw random emotions about.
My therapist thinks that I should try to let at least a part of my anger but seriously: With me it can actually happen that a clove of garlic I drop whilst cooking triggers a fit of rage like others have it once in a year due to something really bad. That is just not acceptable!
Last time my homework was to categorize my fear from 1-10; this time I have to write down situations where I feel anger the following week and next time we’ll go through both lists. I’m curious.

Oh and something that really made me happy: My therapist recommended the motivational tattoos to her skills group and thanked me for the suggestion 🙂

2 thoughts on “Therapy: session #11

  1. Hey! Awesome idea to share your therapy progress here, that is incredibly brave and kind because it gives others an interesting perspective on topics like emotions.
    I would like to pitch you a thought I had when I read this Log:
    I like to imagine emotions as a stream, a river. The problem with rivers is that they are always there, there is just no way of stopping them. If you channel them, they will be much more uncontrollable and flood the whole area. If you try to build a dam, it will inevitably overflow or break. There is no way of changing the amount of emotions you have or the situation you have them in and it is very dangerous to demonize something that is a part of you, because you can’t fight something that is inside you. Maybe some of the emotions actually even result from this auto-aggression, if you actually actively fight a fight you just can’t win. Maybe it would be a lot easier for you if you tried to focus the energy you spend on repressing your emotions on accepting and learning to live with them. We tend to worry a lot about the things we can’t change, so that we actually get blinded to the things we can. It is okay to be emotional and there is nothing to be ashamed of. And if people are judging you for who you are, they are the kind of people you don’t need in your life. Getting to the root of them is important of course, but I think at the same time, understanding them is going to be a lot easier if you accept them and start to work alongside instead of against them. We can’t change who we are, but we can change how we see ourselves! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for your kind and inspiring words – what you say makes a lot of sense to me and I’ll try to keep it in mind. Having readers like you is an incredibly precious gift for me!
      Wish you a great evening 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Write comment

