Too private?

Some people ask me, and occasionally I also ask myself whether what I’m writing in this blog is too private. If it could be a mistake. If it is the better option to pay someone who has an obligation of professinal secrecy to listen to this.

But even if blogging is not a substitute for therapy I am convinced that everything that makes me feel better is a good thing. Furthermore, I want to minimize the differences we all make between physical and mental illnesses. If my arm was broken I wouldn’t carry that around with me for years, I wouldn’t remain silent about how it happened and just hush it up. What I would do is: Get help, talk about the accident, exercise to get fit again and, above all – I wouldn’t be ashamed.

As openly as I would talk about an accident that caused my arm to break, I want to talk about incidents that left my personality shattered.

That leaves the question if all this is too much for the people who read it. When it’s about strangers I can only say that we all should read – and consume media in general – in a responsible way.
And when it’s about people who know me, my therapist said something very helpful: For me as the one who goes through it, it is in any case tougher than it could be for somebody else to hear about it. It took a long time for me to realize that I don’t need to protect others from things that are happening to me.

Conclusion: No, this is not too private – rather, it is said that it’s not natural to talk about such topics.

21 thoughts on “Too private?

  1. That’s the biggest problem with society is that they want to keep this dialogue private but by changing that you help others feel not alone in their journey of feelings so thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was always worried about what I would write about. None of my friend or family see or know about my blog so not to hurt them with what I write about. However, I used to worry that I was disclosing too much but how are we going to fight against the stigma of MH without being open about all the things living with these conditions entail. You’re doing a great job not only are you helping yourself by writing things down you’re also allowing others to recognise they are not alone. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for these kind words – I can relate to the part about not wanting to hurt friends/family very much…and I’m glad about how many positive and kind and motivating comments I get here – thanks for reading and repliying so much! And all the best for you.

      Like

  3. Reblogged this on I SING THE BODY ELECTRIC and commented:
    This is a FAB post written by a fellow survivor who I’m very in tune with. I really wish I’d written it myself actually!… as this totally reflects my feelings about the therapeutic importance of honest blogging about societally stigmatised topics. As survivors we have had our voice stifled and smothered-no more, we’re adults now and society needs to listen to our collective voices. In my view, when it comes to blogging NOTHING IS TOO PRIVATE. If anyone doesn’t want to follow our blogs that’s fine, as it can be upsetting reading, but our lives were upsetting!!! Our childhoods. Our relationships. Our world view, distorted. Our long term mental health, affected. We had little privacy back then-we were exploited and controlled. Not anymore. What’s the point of blogging if we only write what we think will be popular/socially acceptable. Our blogs become sanatised. Everyone saying the same kind of things that we know to be widely ‘acceptable’. That’s not blogging. That’s PR. We’re individuals. Let’s embrace that and say what the fuck we think or feel or *exactly* what happened in our lives. That is blogging, as it was intended to be. It is ours. B.E Xx πŸ’™

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, it’s an honour to be reblogged and I just actually blushed because of your compliments. Your writing is so powerful, it’s incredible – thanks for reading my blog, writing yours and all the best with shouting out loud what happened!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome! Your blog is amazeballs πŸ™‚ it needs to be shared!-I make no apologies for making you blush as I’m just speaking the truth πŸ˜†πŸ˜€ love B.E x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I take it you’re a Brit like me then? I can’t keep up with all these WordPress people across different timezones-it’s lush but confusing πŸ˜‰ I’m so glad my encouragement has helped *hugs*

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Another huge compliment as I’m trying to sound rather british than anything else but I’m Austrian so English is not my mother tongue…but it’s nearly the same time zone πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh cool I’ve never met an Austrian-it AMAZES me how anyone can write so well in a language different to their native one! It’s like if I tried to write in French or German, the posts would be considerably less intelligent sounding! I even struggle with American English 😜 Massive respect to you-bask in the compliment πŸ˜‡πŸ’™

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Well, we’re a tiny country πŸ˜€
        Thank you so much, I’ll bask in this compliment as I love the English language – especially when it comes to emotions you seem to have many words we lack in German πŸ™‚
        And I guess if you’re an English native speaker you don’t actually need another language anyway, apart from the fact that German is much harder to learn than English πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Everyone says English is relatively easy to learn, yet I still haven’t fathomed out all of it yet. Us Brits are very lazy about other languages, but I guess if ours is one of the most widely spoken universal ones we can get away without learning other ones. It’s interesting that there are less words for emotions in German, not good if you’re borderline! Eek! We need as many emotion words as we can get!!! πŸ˜«πŸ˜†πŸ’™

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I’m just struggling with your thousands of idioms but we’ll get there πŸ˜€
        Right, we need a lot of words, that’s one of the reasons for me blogging in English as well because I often feel I can express myself better πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Something like: out of the blue or a dark horse…stuff you say that doesn’t mean what the words mean literally…that wasn’t a great explanation, I hope you know what I mean xD

        Like

Write comment

